RSS

Meatball Casserole

03 May

First of all…I’m not a huge meatball fan.  I don’t know if it’s the texture of them or the fact that I’m not crazy about sausage but, it’s not something I fix a lot of.  BUT, my husband likes them and I’m always looking for new things to fix. 

Believe me, if it’s not good, he has no problem telling me so.  If he really likes it, he’ll say “This is a do over”

That’s exactly what he said last night after eating this Meatball Casserole  “This is a do over”

Maybe I’ll fix me something different on the night I fix this again…

Anyway, it’s pretty simple and quick and makes a lot.

Meatball Casserole Recipe

  • 1 Loaf of French Bread
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 pkg. Frozen Meatballs (Fully cooked)
  • 1 1/2 cups Spaghetti Sauce
  • 1 cup Mozzarella Cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Meanwhile, slice your bread.  Brush each slice with olive oil on one side.  Use a deep casserole dish.  Line the bottom and sides with the bread slices, oil side up.

Bake bread for about 10 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  In a separate bowl, mix spaghetti sauce and meatballs to coat.  Remove the bread from the oven and spoon meatball mixture into the dish on top of the bread.

Return to the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until thoroughly heated through in the center.  Take out of the oven after about 25 minutes and cover with the mozzarella cheese and bake it for another 5 minutes.

Image

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
