RSS

Sinful Whoopie Pies

20 Nov
Sinful Whoopie Pies

These are probably going to get me in trouble! 

Remember earlier this week I told you I was bringing mashed potatoes to my mom’s for Thanksgiving dinner?  Well, she emailed me and asked if I was bringing anything else.

HUH?  I figured my magnificent mashed potatoes would be more than enough!

She says “I just thought you might have something special you’d like to bring”  (apparently my mashed potatoes aren’t special enough)

SO, I came across this recipe on the Kraft website for Whoopie Pies BUT, I added a twist to them.

Keep reading…

Here’s what you’ll need to make these

This is what they should look like after they come out of the oven

If you go strictly by the recipe for the filling, this is what it looks like and it makes A LOT!

BUT, since it’s Thanksgiving, I thought I’d make the filling orange creme flavored so of course, the color of the filling needed to be orange. I did this by adding a few drops of red and yellow food coloring to it. See how pretty?
I also added 1 bottle of Orange Cream Oil and they are delicious!

Of course I had to taste one (just to be sure they were good enough to share with friends and family)

This recipe makes 20-21 really big whoopie pies! You can be very generous with the filling for each one because there’s a lot to use up.

 

I kept 4 out for me and Al to snack on and the rest I froze. I wrapped each one with that evil stuff they call “Saran Wrap”

Sinful Whoopie Pie Recipe

1 pkg. devil’s food cake mix
3 squares Baker’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate, melted
1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O Chocolate Instant Pudding
1 pkg. (8 oz.) PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened
1 cup JET-PUFFED Marshmallow Creme
1 tub (8 oz.) COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, thawed

Heat oven to 350 degrees

Prepare cake mix as directed on package, except use 3/4 cup oil, add dry pudding mix and melted chocolate, stir.

Drop batter, 2 inches apart, onto cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray, using 1 Tbs. batter for each.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool 5 min. on baking sheet; remove to wire racks. Cool completely.

Mix cream cheese and marshmallow creme in large bowl until well blended. Gently stir in COOL WHIP. (this is also where you’ll add the flavored oil and food coloring if you want to make them like I did)
Spread onto one side of cakes, cover with remaining cakes.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Sinful Whoopie Pies

  1. Dianne

    November 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    Wow Deb, these look sooo delicious, May have to break tradition and give them a try…lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
