RSS

Just like Wendy’s Chili

05 Nov

This is in my crockpot cooking right now.

Don’t let all these ingredients intimidate you.  They are all very important to this recipe…I just hope you have an electric can opener 🙂

My husband says this is THE best chili he’s ever eaten AND it really does taste just like Wendy’s chili.  It tastes even better after it sits for a couple of days.  AND it freezes really well.

(You’ll notice I’m not a stickler when it comes to name brands.  If it’s on sale, I buy it.)  BUT, there are a few things I won’t buy generic….canned corn being one of them.

It makes a HUGE batch.  I added every single ingredient in my 6 quart crockpot and as you can see, it’s filled to the rim.

Just like Wendy’s Chili Recipe

  • 3 lbs. ground chuck
  • 1 – 29 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 2 – 15.5 oz. cans pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 – 15.5 oz. cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 – 28 oz. cans rotel tomatoes and chiles
  • 2 – cups chicken broth
  • 1 large onion, diced fine
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 2 tsps. cumin
  • 3 Tbs. chili powder
  • 2 tsps. black pepper
  • 2 tsps. salt
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper

Brown the ground chuck in skillet over medium heat.  Drain off fat.

In a large crockpot, combine the ground chuck with the remaining ingredients.  Cook on low heat for 8 hours.

Serve with peanut butter sandwiches!

It really is THAT good!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Just like Wendy’s Chili

  1. Melissa

    November 7, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I’ll be making this chili this week. Looks yummy.

     
  2. Vickey

    November 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Hahaha..you are the only person I know that eats peanut butter sandwiches with chili!..but the recipe does look yummy…gonna have to try it..

     
    • Deb Morgan

      November 8, 2011 at 12:58 pm

      LOL That’s the ONLY thing that “should” be eaten with Chili

       
  3. Diane Hill

    November 14, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    oh no….this is SO not Texas chili! lol I’ll try it out and see how it goes…don’t know how beans in chili will go over though… I’m just ignoring the peanut butter part! lol

     
    • Deb Morgan

      November 14, 2011 at 10:25 pm

      Dee, it’s called “Just like Wendy’s” NOT “Just like Texas”
      And who doesn’t put beans in their chili??

       
  4. Katie

    April 24, 2013 at 2:12 am

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, fantastic blog!

     
  5. Judy U.

    August 18, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    Do you really add chicken broth??

     
    • Deb Morgan

      August 18, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      Yes Sent from Huawei Mobile

      My Simp

       
  6. Judy U.

    August 18, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    looking forward to making this for football season!

     
  7. Stacey

    January 4, 2014 at 1:08 am

    Love chicken broth in chili. Really want to try this recipe. And to all the comments abot PB sandwiches…awesome! We do it here all the time! Really good, def give it a try.

     
    • Deb Morgan

      January 4, 2014 at 7:00 am

      It’s really good, Stacey! My Simp

       

Leave a Reply

 
