RSS

Homemade Chicken and Noodle Soup

22 Oct

What’s better on a cool, Fall day than Homemade Chicken and Noodle Soup!

Can I just tell you that while I was cleaning the chicken, I almost thought twice about making the soup.  Chicken’s are soooo disgusting!!  Now I know why my dad, to this day won’t eat chicken…period!  But, if you can get past the ugliness of it, the final product is delicious!

I’m going to let it cook on low all day in the crockpot, stick it in the fridge later and add my noodles tomorrow.  I think letting it sit overnight enhances the flavor.

The recipe is very simple:

1 Whole Baked Chicken….. I rubbed butter all over the outside and inside of it then sprinkled generously with pepper, salt, onion salt and sage (I baked mine at 400 degrees for 1 1/2 hours) then let it cool and picked all the meat off of it.  Make sure to save the juices after it’s baked so you can add that to your crockpot.

4 cups of chicken broth

1/2 stick butter

Carrots and Celery cut up in bite size pieces

Put chicken, broth, butter, celery and carrots in the crockpot and let it simmer all day

More salt and pepper to taste

Just before serving, add your cooked Egg Noodles

We’ll probably eat this with hot rolls

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Homemade Chicken and Noodle Soup

  1. Debi

    November 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    So, since I’m basically lazy and hate fooling with chickens, too….I could get a rotisserie chicken from the deli, right?

     
    • Deb Morgan

      November 3, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      A rotisserie chicken would work perfect!

       

Leave a Reply

 
