RSS

Black Bean Salsa Chicken

20 Oct

I LOVE Fall!  It’s my favorite time of year.  I love the colors of the leaves changing on the trees, I love the crispness in the air, I love going to Farm markets and seeing all the pumpkins and Fall decorations AND, I know Christmas isn’t far off! 

I also love cooking with my crockpot on cold days (heck, I love using my crockpot on hot days) it just makes the house smell so good when food is cooking in the crockpot all day.

This is one of my favorite crockpot dishes to make.

  1. It’s super easy to throw together!
  2. It goes in the crockpot which makes me very happy!
  3. It’s super yummy and filling!

I originally got this recipe from a friend of mine in Texas (Debi).  We met on the internet over 3 years ago and stay in touch daily.

I tweaked it a little to add a little more heat and flavor to it.  You can tweak it to your taste too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Black Bean Salsa Chicken Recipe:

  • 2 cans Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (frozen)
  • 1 large jar of Salsa
  • 1 pkg. Taco Seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • Cooked Rice

Put the black beans in the bottom of your crockpot.

Place the frozen chicken breasts on top of the black beans.

Pour the salsa over the chicken breasts

Mix taco seasoning and cayenne pepper in about 2/3 cup of water and pour over all.

Cook on low 6-8 hours

Serve over cooked rice

I usually serve this with Hot Rolls  (These are my new favorite rolls) “Rhodes Bake N Serv White Dinner Rolls”  There are 36 rolls in each bag so they last “us” a long time!  The trick…is remembering to take them out of the freezer 4 hours ahead of time so they thaw and rise in time to bake them for supper.  LOL

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Black Bean Salsa Chicken

  1. Debi

    November 3, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I love this dish so much……we usually have this when we are dieting, so we don’t have bread with ours, but I’d love the bread!

     
  2. Anonymous

    July 27, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Hi there! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info youve got here on this post.
    I will likely be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
